Books

Ann Morgan: writer & editor

Beside Myself

 

My novel Beside Myself was published worldwide in English by Bloomsbury in January 2016. A literary psychological drama, it tells the story of a pair of identical twins who swap places in a childhood game, only for one of them to be trapped in a nightmare when the other refuses to change back.

 

You can read about how I came to write the book on my blog. If you like the sound of it, you can order your copy here or through your local bookshop.

 

UK cover

UK cover

Here's what writers and book reviewers have already had to say about Beside Myself:

 

‘A blisteringly clever novel about identity’

Independent

 

‘Morgan’s book is an unsettling performance ... It reads like a particularly ingenious misery memoir ...Impressive'

Sunday Times

 

‘A dark tale of addiction and mental illness… This sinister thriller is set for big things’

Selected by Stylist for one of the ‘must-read thrillers’ for 2016

‘A compulsive, dark and strikingly well-written novel that grips from the first page until long after the last’

Nathan Filer, author of The Shock of the Fall

‘A very clever and compelling novel about the ways in which we construct our own identity, and the ways in which it is constructed for us … This is such a powerful and satisfying novel’

Rebecca Wait, author of The View on the Way Down and The Followers

US cover

‘Beside Myself is a dark and urban fairytale in which the stuff of nightmares is made literal when twin sisters decide to play an innocuous-seeming game. A most modern and metropolitan fairytale … Fabulous’

Lucy Caldwell, winner of Dylan Thomas prize

‘A gripping, savage tale about a lost generation, shipwrecked in a brainless celebrity culture or choosing rebellion, drugs and rage. Full of twists and surprises, this thrilling novel will leave you both shaken and stirred’

Patricia Duncker, author of Hallucinating Foucault and James Miranda Barry

‘An exquisitely written and chillingly suspenseful debut. This story unnerved me in all the right ways with its constant surprises and unexpected twists. Ann Morgan has made her mark with this powerful novel, and I look forward to whatever she writes next’

David Bell, author of Somebody I Used to Know

 

'Crisp language to delight in, and I churned with the quirks and toughness of Helen’s dilemmas. This is a debut novel to root for'

Martn Goodman, author of Ectopia

‘For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train … Morgan’s stunning debut is a thrilling and thought-provoking psychological drama’

Booklist starred review

‘The novel is a deep, troubling, painful exploration of identity, genetics, and mental illness, but along the journey, the main character (Helen/Ellie/Smudge) becomes truly fascinating … Ambitious and gritty; a modern take on the age-old question of fate versus free will’

Kirkus

Reading the World or The World Between Two Covers

 

Reading the World: Confessions of a Literary Explorer or The World Between Two Covers: Reading the Globe (as it is known in the US) was inspired by my 2012 blog project ayearofreadingtheworld.com, a year-long journey through one book from every country.

 

Bringing together extensive research with some of the extraordinary encounters from that year, it explores the big questions raised by the quest.

 

From how censorship, translation and publishing trends affect how we access and interact with texts to the way reading shapes our perspective, the book shows the power of narratives to change and connect human beings. It documents the experiences of people creating and sharing stories in some of the most unusual circumstances known to humankind. And it reveals the exceptional moment in history we are living through, in which it is possible for one person at home to encounter literature and the world as never before.

 

 

Reading the World: Confessions of a Literary Explorer was published in the UK and Commonwealth (excluding Canada) on February 5, 2015 by Harvill Secker/Random House. You can buy it here (or from your lovely local indie bookshop).

The World Between Two Covers: Reading the Globe was published in North America in May 2015 by Liveright/W.W. Norton & Co. You can buy it here (or from your lovely local indie bookshop). The book is also available as an audiobook here.

© Ann Morgan 2015